[wellylug] Server still off line

Mark Foster blakjak at blakjak.net
Mon Jan 17 14:39:12 NZDT 2011

Wow, Dejavu…


We covered all this off some time ago.  The DNS points at his host (ehost) who’re presumably doing some sort of redirection get the website to render the content of his own webserver (hosted on a Cable connection).

The alternatives covered including moving the DNS from ehost to his static IP, or referring him to ehost for assistance with the DNS piece, and there was also some feedback provided on Apache and its configuration.


Unfortunately John has not been able to post anything more detailed or explanatory than ‘it’s not working’ and make allusions to some details, but has not directly answered any of the technical questions posed.  Somehow it seems to be expected that we’ll be able to finish the puzzle with only half the pieces.


Given it’s been nearly 3 weeks with essentially no progress I reiterate my advice that it may be time to get professional assistance, as the level of assistance the LUG can provide doesn’t appear to be going anywhere.





From: wellylug-bounces at lists.wellylug.org.nz [mailto:wellylug-bounces at lists.wellylug.org.nz] On Behalf Of Neil Ramsay
Sent: Monday, 17 January 2011 2:30 p.m.
To: wellylug at lists.wellylug.org.nz
Subject: Re: [wellylug] Server still off line


Good afternoon,
I have had a brief exchange with John.

The site in question is modecideas.com, which is registered with a registrar "ehost".
It looks like there may be DNS issues, as www.modecideas.com resolves to, which reverse resolves to smtp.ehost.com.

Another hint is https://www.modecideas.com provides a *.ehost.com SSL certificate.

I have confirmed with John that it is not a split DNS issue as modecideas.com resolves the same internally and externally.

Any constructive suggestions for John would be appreciated.


On Mon, 17 Jan 2011 13:27:04 +1300, Neil Ramsay wrote:

Hi John,
I think what we need is specific information.

What is your technical experience?

Which site are you referring to?
I have noticed modecideas.com in your email signatures, which is registered to you, is this the site you mean?

What errors are you receiving?
I have tried to connect to modecideas.com and receive a "403 Forbidden" message - is this what you are referring to?

What is your network layout?
Which ISP do you use and do you have an ADSL modem/router or cable modem?
What firewall does your server run, and what is between your server and the modem/router?
Are you running split DNS? (ie does your site resolve to different IP addresses when inside and outside your network)

What services are you running?
Are you running the Apache2 web server. Anything else?
Are these services binding to all interfaces, or only specific ones?

I may also suggest you don't post this information directly on the mail list, but rather directly email those who ask for it.
This is a public mail list and you don't want to expose too much for security purposes.


On Sun, 16 Jan 2011 12:50:06 +1300, John Durham wrote:

Just got back to the office hoping for better news, but no server 
connection yet. The problem is limited to the cent-OS machine. Does 
anyone know how to get it on line? I'm somewhat out of my depth with this.



-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: <http://lists.wellylug.org.nz/pipermail/wellylug/attachments/20110117/8c6665fd/attachment-0001.htm>

More information about the wellylug mailing list